Change to UFU ACT Branch Rules

The BCOM resolved at its meeting of 28 September 2017 to add a new clause to the UFU ACT Branch Rules as follows:

2. Retired Members' Division

- (a) There shall be a Retired Members' Division of the Australian Capital Territory Branch which shall consist only of Retired Members.
- (b) The objects of the Retired Members' Division shall include:
 - (i) Promotion of goodwill and friendship amongst Retired Members and to demonstrate that one's work for the betterment of others has not ended on retirement from the industry and that an ongoing association with the Australian Capital Territory Branch is desirable;
 - (ii) Cooperation with the Australian Capital Territory Branch in its activities for improved living, environmental, social and economic standards for firefighters; and
 - (iii) Assistance to the Australian Capital Territory Branch to further its objects wherever possible.
- (c) The conditions of eligibility for membership of the Retired Members' Division are as follows:
 - i. A member of the Australian Capital Territory Branch may retain their membership after retiring from the paid workforce by transferring to the Retired Members' Division if immediately before retiring, the member was a financial member of the Australian Capital Territory Branch for a period of at least two years, or for periods which taken together total at least two years;
 - ii. A former member of the Australian Capital Territory Branch may join the Retired Members' Division if immediately before retiring or otherwise leaving the employment of ACT Fire Brigade, ACT Fire and Rescue or the Canberra Fire Brigade, the member was a financial member of the Australian Capital Territory Branch for a period of at least two years, or for periods which taken together total at least two years
- (d) Retired Members shall have no voting rights in any ballot, including those ballots relating to elections and may not stand for any office in the Australian Capital Territory Branch other than those relating specifically to the Retired Members' Division. Unfinancial Retired Members have no voting rights and may not stand for any position within the Retired Members' Division.
- (e) Retired Members' dues for each year (1 July to 30 June) are to be paid by 30 June. The amount due for each Retired Member will be an amount set by the Branch Committee of Management.
- (f) Upon commencement of this rule there shall be a request for nominations of Retired Members for the positions of Retired Members' Division Secretary and President. If there is more than one nomination for a position then the Branch Executive shall make a decision and the decision shall be final.
- (g) A Retired Members' Division Secretary and President shall be appointed every three years. The role and duties of the Retired Members' Division Secretary and President will be similar to the role and duties of the Australian Capital Territory Branch Secretary and President but restricted to the operation of the Retired Members' Division.
- (h) Meetings of the Retired Members' Division are to be held at least on a quarterly basis or at a time determined by the Retired Members' Division Secretary in consultation with the President.
- (i) There shall be Retired Members' Division functions held from time to time as determined in consultation with the Branch Committee of Management.